Schedule for elections on 52 Senate seats next month


Senate sessionISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will announce the schedule for elections on 52 Senate seats next month .

He said the polling day was likely to be fixed in the first week of March. Nomination papers for the elections have been printed and ballot papers will be printed after publication of the final list of candidates.

Elections will be held for seven general and four reserved seats from each province, including two each for women and technocrats, four seats from Fata, two from Islamabad and two minority seats.

The 52 members who are due to retire in March include Senate Chairman Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari, Deputy Chairman Sabir Ali Baloch, Information Minister Pervaiz Rasheed, PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, National Party chief Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, PML-N chairman Raja Mohammad Zafarul Haq, former interior minister Rehman Malik, former chairman of Senate Farooq H. Naek, former law minister Moula Bux Chandio, Jehangir Badr, Islamuddin Sheikh, parliamentary leader of MQM in the Senate Babar Ghauri, Afrasiab Khatak, Haji Adeel, Zahid Khan, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri, Mushahidullah Khan and Syed Zafar Ali Shah.

Categories: National

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.